, pub-9413809298305951, DIRECT, f08c47fec0942fa0

6 Alternatives To Bloom’s Taxonomy For Teachers – Latest

Bloom’s Taxonomy For Teachers

There are several alternatives to Bloom’s Taxonomy that teachers can consider to enhance their instructional strategies and assessments. These alternatives offer different perspectives and frameworks for understanding and assessing learning. Here’s a summary of six notable alternatives:

The TeachThought Learning Taxonomy:

This taxonomy organizes isolated tasks into six domains based on their complexity. These domains include:

  1. The Parts: Explaining or describing a concept in simple terms.
  2. The Whole: Explaining a concept in both micro-detail and macro-context.
  3. The Interdependence: Explaining how a concept relates to similar and non-similar concepts.
  4. The Function: Applying a concept in unfamiliar situations.
  5. The Abstraction: Demonstrating a concept’s nuance with artfulness or insight.
  6. The Self: Self-directing future learning about the concept.

More here…

  • UbD’s Six Facets Of Understanding: Developed by Grant Wiggins and Jay McTighe, this framework is part of the Understanding by Design model. It’s a non-hierarchical framework aimed at helping teachers evaluate and assess student understanding.
  • Marzano & Kendall’s Taxonomy: This taxonomy arranges a range of processes into six categories from the lowest to highest level of difficulty. Each category includes specific verbs and phrases to aid teachers in designing assessments and evaluating mastery.
  • The Taxonomy Of Significant Learning: Proposed by Dr. Dee Fink, this taxonomy describes attributes of ‘significant’ learning. Which is contrasted with ‘less significant’ learning. The central idea focuses on the enduring impact and applicability of learning experiences.
  • Webb’s Depth Of Knowledge Framework: This framework is designed to promote rigor by organizing specific strategies. Higher-order thinking skills into four domains, ranging from lower to higher complexity.
  • The SOLO Taxonomy: Standing for “Structure of Observed Learning Outcomes,” the SOLO taxonomy, created by John Biggs and Kevin Collis, includes five levels of understanding. It emphasizes the progression from understanding single aspects of a task to integrating them into a whole and applying them to new situations.

Each of these alternatives offers unique insights and methods for assessing and understanding student learning. They provide varied perspectives that can be adapted to different educational contexts and learning objectives​​​​​​.

Leave a Comment

Discover more from Teach Educator

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading