A Bloom’s Taxonomy Model in 3D – Latest

By Teach Educator

Published on:

Bloom’s Taxonomy Model in 3D

Bloom’s Taxonomy Model in 3D is a hierarchical framework that classifies educational objectives into levels of complexity. The original model, proposed by Benjamin Bloom in 1956, consists of six cognitive levels: remember, understand, apply, analyze, evaluate, and create. Each level represents a different cognitive skill, starting from the basic recall of information to higher-order thinking and the creation of new knowledge.

Transforming Bloom’s Taxonomy into a 3D model involves representing each level along three axes to capture additional dimensions of learning. Here’s a conceptual representation of a 3D Bloom’s Taxonomy model:

X-Axis: Cognitive Processes

  • Remember: Basic recall and recognition of information.
  • Understand: Grasping the meaning, interpretation, and comprehension of information.
  • Apply: Using knowledge in new situations or applying acquired concepts.
  • Analyze: Breaking down information into parts and understanding the relationships between them.
  • Evaluate: Making judgments about the value and worth of information or ideas.
  • Create: Synthesizing information to generate new ideas, products, or ways of viewing things.

Y-Axis: Knowledge Domains

  • Factual Knowledge: Basic information and facts.
  • Conceptual Knowledge: Understanding of concepts, principles, and theories.
  • Procedural Knowledge: Knowing how to do something or apply a process.
  • Metacognitive Knowledge: Understanding one’s own thought processes and strategies for learning.

Z-Axis: Contexts of Learning

  • Classroom Context: Learning that occurs within the traditional classroom setting.
  • Real-world Context: Applying knowledge and skills in practical, real-world situations.
  • Digital/Online Context: Engaging with information and tasks in the digital realm.

This 3D model allows educators to consider the cognitive processes, knowledge domains, and contexts of learning simultaneously. For example, a learning objective might be situated in the “Apply” level (X-axis), involve “Procedural Knowledge” (Y-axis), and be applied in a “Real-world Context” (Z-axis).

Keep in mind that this 3D representation is a conceptual framework, and the actual design may vary based on specific educational contexts and goals. It’s important to adapt the model to fit the needs of learners and the subject matter being taught.

Related Post

Are DPT and MBBS the same?

DPT and MBBS No, DPT and MBBS are not the same. They are both related to the medical field, but they have different academic requirements, scope of practice, ...

What is a DPT degree in Pakistan?

DPT degree in Pakistan A Doctor of Physical Therapy (DPT) degree in Pakistan is a professional doctoral-level degree program. That prepares individuals to become licensed physical therapists. In ...

What degree do most physical therapy need?

Physical Therapy Most physical therapists are required to have a Doctor of Physical Therapy (DPT) degree. To enter a DPT program, individuals typically need to have completed a ...

Physical Therapist Education – New Updated

Physical Therapist Education Physical therapist education prepares individuals to become physical therapists, healthcare professionals who diagnose and treat movement disorders and injuries. Education programs typically include a combination ...

Leave a Comment