TN Teaching License
The duration of a TN teaching license depends on the type of license and the date of issuance. According to the [Educator Licensure] webpage, there are four types of licenses for teachers in Tennessee:
- Practitioner License: A three-year license issued to new teachers. Who have completed an approved educator preparation program or have met other requirements. This license can be renewed once with satisfactory evaluation scores and professional development hours.
- Professional License: A six-year license issued to teachers. Who have completed three years of successful teaching with a Practitioner License and have met other requirements. This license can be renewed with satisfactory evaluation scores and professional development hours.
- Apprentice License: A five-year license issued to teachers. Who have not completed an approved educator preparation program but have met other requirements. This license can only be used for three years in an approved Tennessee school and cannot be renewed.
- Non-Public License: A ten-year license issued to teachers who qualify for or hold a valid Tennessee teaching license. Have current certification from the National Board for Professional Teaching Standards, or hold a valid license from another state. This license only allows teachers to work in a Tennessee non-public school.
To check the expiration date of your current license, you can log in to your [TNCompass] account and view your licensure information. You can also apply for a renewal or reinstatement of your license through TNCompass if you meet the requirements.
How do I get my TN teaching license?
To get your TN teaching license, you need to meet the following requirements:
- Be 18 years of age or older
- Hold at least a bachelor’s degree from an accredited higher educational institution
- Successfully complete a state-approved educator preparation program and be recommended for licensure
- Proof of passing scores on all required Praxis exams
- Submit an application through an educational preparation institute, individuals cannot submit applications.
You can apply for a new Tennessee license or take action on a current license through [TNCompass], a web-based system that provides information and services for educators in Tennessee. Now you will need to create a registered account. And pay a non-refundable fee of $80 for each license type you are applying for.
You can find more information about the different types of licenses, the renewal and reinstatement process, and the literacy course requirement on the [Educator Licensure] webpage.
What is the literacy course requirement?
The literacy course requirement is a new provision of the Tennessee Literacy Success Act. Which aims to improve the reading skills of students in grades K-5. According to the act, all teachers hold a license with an endorsement. That allows them to teach reading in grades K-5. And must complete at least one approved foundational literacy skills course by August 1, 2023. The free TN Early Reading Training or Secondary Literacy Training meets this training requirement.
Teachers who complete the training will receive a certificate. That they must upload to TNCompass within one year of their licensure renewal or advancement deadline. This requirement also applies to educators holding a retired endorsement that allows them to teach reading in grades K-5. Such as Elementary K-6 or 1-8 endorsement. You can find more information about the literacy course requirement and the list of qualifying endorsements on the [Educator Licensure] webpage.
I am a teacher educator. I encourage deep and independent learning. I build a community of writers and learners. And also share all educational articles, Methods, Lesson Plans, educational news, events, all boards textbooks, solved papers, admissions, scholarships, and much more here.